Chamber Musician

  • News of the class

    Miriam Kops got a time contract in the Cologne Gürzenichorchester.

    Annika Baum won the audition for “2nd bassoon/double bassoon in the “Staatsphilhamonie Rheinland-Pfalz”, Ludwigshafen.

    Raphael Eberle got the position “2nd bassoon/double bassoon” in the Philharmonic Orchestra Luebeck.

    Zhaoqi Zhang passed the audition for principal bassoon in the Philharmonic Orchestra Harbin, China.

    Cian-Wun Chen won the trial for assistant principal bassoon in the Sonderjyllands Symfonieorkest, Denmark.

    In the same orchestra, Antonio Andrade got a time contract.

    Ana Martin Delgado got a time contract in the orchestra of “Niederrheinische Symphoniker Moenchengladbach/Krefeld”.

    Fuyao Wang won an intership in the Augsburg Philharmonic orchestra.

    Agnes Neudorfer won the audition for the Schleswig-Holstein Festival Youth Orchestra.

About me

Marc Engelhardt was born in Radevormwald in 1961. During his studies, Marc received music lessons from professor Günter Pfitzenmaier in Cologne, which was followed by him studying with professor Klaus Thunemann in Hannover. At first, Marc was a member of the Junge Deutsche Philharmonie and the European Community Youth Orchestra where he played with conductors like Claudio Abbado and Leonard Bernstein. In 1986, he was committed as principal bassoonist in the former Radio Symphony Orchestra of Saarbrücken. In this position he has also played with the Radio Symphony Orchestras of Munich (BR), Hamburg (NDR), Cologne (WDR), Frankfurt (HR), the Bamberg Symphony, the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen and the Hamburg State Opera with conductors like Myung-Whun Chung, Sir Colin Davis, Paavo Järvi, Christoph Eschenbach, Manfred Honeck and Semyon Bychkov. His chamber music expertise is strongly shaped by his connections with trumpet player Matthias Höfs, saxophonist Daniel Schnyder, the Stuttgart Academy, and the ensemble Fagottissimo Stuttgart.

Since the mid-90s, Marc has been granted lecturships at the Hochschule für Musik Saar as well as the University of Music and Performing Arts Stuttgart. He has established successful classes at both universities. In 2001, Marc was appointed professor at the University of Music and Performing arts Stuttgart, where he has been working full-time since 2007. Moreover, he is also the dean of his faculty and works as an appraiser for the German Science Council.

His master classes and his activity as a jury member have taken him around the world to France, Russia, Poland, Japan, China, South-Korea, Switzerland, and the United States of America. As a soloist, he has been performing with the RSO Saarbrücken, the State Philharmonic Orchestra Ludwigshafen, the Sonderjyllands Symphony Orchestra, the Sudecka Philharmonic, and the chamber orchestras of Cologne and Heilbronn among many others. His core repertoire consits of classical bassoon concertos by Vivaldi, Mozart, Hummel, Weber, and Berwald, but also various debut performances.

Listen to Marc’s live recording of the concerto for bassoon and orchestra in B-flat major, KV 191, by W.A. Mozart:

Andante ma adagio
Rondo, Tempo di minuetto


Marc considers his most significant task to be his dedicated pedagogical work. His alumni have won numerous national as well as international competitions, and they play in orchestras located all around the world.


Antonio Andrade Temporary contract Philharmonic Orchestra Ulm

Annika Baum Stirling Phil Academy

Hugo Carnicero Senabre

Cian-Wun Chen Sonderjyllands Symfonieorkest, Sonderburg

Raphael Eberle
Temporary contract Staatsorchester Darmstadt

Jorid Haakh

Jonas Imkampe

Jihye Kim
Solobassoon Stadttheater Hildesheim

Miriam Kops
Academy Frankfurt Opera

Ana Martin Delgado Academy SWR Symphony Orchestra

Anna-Marie Maas
Principal bassoon Badische Staatskapelle Karlsruhe

Agnes Neudorfer Schleswig-Holstein Festival Youth Orchestra

Theresia Schmalian
Assistant Principal Bassoon Ulm Philharmonic Orchestra

Fuyao Wang

Yi Yang


Rebekka Abramski
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Anne-Alice Aubry
Philharmonisches Orchester Ulm

Melodia Baeza Orchestra Sinfonica de Chile

Filip Vlad Bobe
Marinemusikkorps Wilhelmshaven

Guillem Borras-Garriga
Symphoniker Hamburg (Academy)

Tabea Brehm
Staatsorchester Darmstadt

Mathieu Brunet
Orchestra della Svizzera italiana

Maria Castro
Orquestra Classica do Sul

Cian-Wun Chen Sonderjyllands Symfonieorkest, Sonderburg

Anzhelika Chernykh
Slowenisches Nationaltheater Maribor

Jong-Sun Choi
Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra

Yoonho Choi
Hyogo Performing Arts Centre Orchestra

Alexandru Cozma
ORF Radio-Symphonieorchester Wien

Cristian Crevena
Orchestra Sinfonica Nazionale RAI Torino

Maren Duncker
Magdeburgische Philharmonie

Joanna Ganzarc
Staatskapelle Berlin (Academy)

Ovidiu German
Filarmonica Arad

Jing-Jing Ji
China National Center Of Performing Arts Orchestra

Fuyuko Karasawa
Tokyo Chamber Orchestra

Susanne Keck
Philharmonisches Orchester Freiburg

Yuki Kichikawa
Südwestdeutsche Philharmonie Konstanz

Alicja Kieruzalska
NFM Wroclaw Philharmonic

Arati Kober
Orchester des Landestheaters Detmold

Iris Lagrange
Südwestdeutsche Philharmonie Konstanz

Shao-Mei Lin
Göttinger Sinfonieorchester

Shao-Mei Lin
Göttinger Sinfonieorchester

Benjamin Lewi
Torun Symphony Orchestra

Hua Ma
Professor Zhejiang Conservatory of Music

Simone Manna Orchestra Sinfonica Nazionale RAI Torino

Pasquale Marano
Teatro dell’ 0pera, Roma

Oskar Münchgesang
Hessisches Staatsorchester Wiesbaden

Mareike Neuhäuser
Badische Philharmonie Pforzheim

Ricardo de Oliveira
Orquestra Municipal de Campinas

Cezary Rembisz
Symphonieorchester des Polnischen Rundfunks Kattowitz

Thomas Ritschel
Gewandhausorchester Leipzig (TC)

Matthias Secker
Symphoniker Hamburg

Martynas Sedbaras
Bayerisches Staatsorchester

Rira Seo
Orchester des Pfalztheaters Kaiserslautern (TC)

Jan Schmitz
Staatsorchester Darmstadt

Hikari Sohma
Thüringen Philharmonie Gotha (TC)

Dongyu Song
Sichuan Symphony Orchestra

Angela Symalla
Nationaltheater-Orchester Mannheim (TC)

Vitali Titar
Academic Symphony Orchestra of Dnipr

Jeremy Webster
Hofer Sinfoniker (TC)

Peng-Hui Wang
Ensemble Modern (Academy)

Marcin Wosinski
Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra

Katarzyna Zdybel
NFM Wroclaw Philharmonic

Catarina Zeh
Sonderjyllands Symfoniorkester

Zhaoqi Zhang Harbin Philharmonic Orchestra

Ying-Xue Zhao
Singapore Symphony Orchestra


Prof. Marc Engelhardt
Friedenstraße 25
71711 Steinheim
+49 176 32 41 65 48